Category : Development - Sustainability
Subcategory : Regional development
Records 1 to 7 from 7

1. Committee of the Regions :
  The Committee of the Regions was created by the Maastricht Treaty in 1991. Europe's leaders were afraid that the EU was steaming ahead and leaving the public behind, and that is why they decided to set up a Committee to represent the local and regional authorities. It is certainly no coincidence that the Committee of the Regions and the concept of subsidiary were conceived at the same time, in the same place.
2. UNIFEM United Nations Development Fund for Women :
  The United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM) promotes women's empowerment and gender equality. It works to ensure the participation of women in all levels of development planning and practice, and acts as a catalyst within the UN system, supporting efforts that link the needs and concerns of women to all critical issues on the national, regional and global agenda. UNIFEM focuses its work at the country level within the context of the United Nations Resident Coordinator System. Playing a strong advocacy role, the Fund concentrates on fostering a multilateral policy dialogue on women's empowerment.
3. ACC Network on Rural Development and Food Security :
  At its April 1997 session, the United Nations Administrative Committee on Coordination decided to establish a global, consultative Network on Rural Development and Food Security. The Network replaces the former ACC Sub-Committee on Rural Development. . It is jointly managed by FAO and IFAD, in close cooperation with WFP The ACC Network on Rural Development and Food Security aims to mobilize support for government efforts to implement the World Food Summit Plan of Action and rural development and food security programmes; to reinforce ties between UN system organizations and other stakeholders and to foster complementarities and synergies, as well as the exchange and dissemination of information, experiences and best practices.
4. World Trade Organization (WTO) :
  The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.
5. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Forum: Technical Consultation on Decentralization :
  THE TECHNICAL Consultation on Decentralization (TCD) was sponsored by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF), the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), the German Agency for Technical Cooperation (GTZ), the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) and the World Bank (WB). The TCD brought together policy-makers, practitioners and academics from the developed and developing world to review and discuss the contribution of decentralized and participatory strategies to rural development. To achieve this goal the TCD was structured into working groups organized around selected themes. The TCD also included four presentations by key speakers and a poster session.
6. Council of European Municipalities and Regions :
  Established in 1951, the Council of European Municipalities and Regions originated from the conviction that local and regional authorities have a fundamental role to play in the realization of the European Union. They provide popular support for Europe through the efforts of local politicians who are the elected representatives closest to the citizens. Today, CEMR brings together more than 100 000 local and regional authorities in Europe, federated through 42 large national associations of local and regional authorities in 29 countries
7. United Nations International Research and Training Institute for the Advancement of Women (INSTRAW) :
  The United Nations International Research and Training Institute for the Advancement of Women (INSTRAW) is the only institution in the United Nations system solely devoted to research and training for the advancement of women. Recently, INSTRAW restructured to become the only dedicated UN institution to deliver its mandate through new information and communication technologies (ICT).
Records 1 to 7 from 7